Tonight’s the night: The Eurovision Song Contest is taking place in Kiev, Ukraine. I am really looking forward to this event, since I have followed ESC regularly since 2013, when my friend Tiziana from Scrabbled Rambles infected me with the ESC virus. 😉

This year some really great songs will be presented and I thought, I could show you my top 10 favorite songs of ESC 2017.

Here we go!

My Top 10 Songs of ESC 2017

10. “Beautiful Mess” – Kristian Kostov (Bulgaria)

Kristian Kostov is with his 17 years the youngest participant at ESC 2017. I think he did well. The song is so emotional and he has a good voice.

9. “Requiem” – Alma (France)

I like it when songs are in the native language of the country. And even more when it is French – it’s such a melodic beautiful language. I liked the song, it’s typically French I’d say. A bit like their chansons, with a nice English chorus.

8. “Never Give Up On You” – Lucie Jones (Great Britain)

Another great voice. It’s actually the first time in 5 years of ESC that I really liked the British song. Well done, Lucie Jones.

7. “Perfect Life” – Levina (Germany)

I like our German song this year. But it’s not among my top 3 songs. Anyway, I hope that Levina won’t end up on the last rank as the German songs of 2015 and 2016 did. I would like to see her in the middle ranks.

6. “Hey, Mamma” – Sunstroke Project (Moldova)

A song that makes me wanna dance whenever I hear it. I love the saxophone, by the way. A really happy song that makes me feel good. I like it. 🙂

5. “Do It For Your Lover” – Manel Navarro (Spain)

This song gives me that “holidays on the beach” feeling. It has the potential for a summer hit. I wish I could sing along, but I don’t understand much Spanish. Anyway, I love this song.

4. “Dance Alone” – Jana Burceska (F.Y.R. Macedonia)

This is the only song in my list that didn’t make it to the final show. I kept my finger’s crossed during the semi-final, but it didn’t help 😦 I really loved the song, it made me wanna dance with Jana Burceska. 🙂

3. “Time” – O.Torvald (Ukraine)

The only rock song in the show is definitely one of my top 3. I love rock music and I think that there is too much pop and ballads in the ESC. So it’s good that Ukraine sent a rock band to ESC 2017.

2. “I Can’t Go On” – Robin Bengtsson (Sweden)

I had a earworm of this song lately and was humming it all day. 😀 So, it’s definitely one of my top 3 favorites. The song is so catchy, I could sing it along after hearing it once or twice. At least the chorus. 😀 Sweden is always very good at ESC, so I think that with this song they will score a high rank again.

1. “Amar Pelos Dois” – Salvador Sobral (Portugal)

My number 1 hit is this year definitely the super emotional Portuguese entry. I get goosebumps when I hear this voice. It’s not much show, just a young man standing at the stage with his microphone. No bright lights, no pyrotechnics. But a perfect song.

This were my top 10 favorite songs of ESC 2017. I can’t wait watching the final show tonight and hope the best for my favorite songs and artists. What are your favorites this year? Will you watch ESC at all?

 

