Another week is over and we already reached the middle of Camp NaNoWriMo. The last week was not so good for me, I suffered from depression and lack of motivation. Besides, I got tired of the story and it’s no fun writing it anymore.

Camp-2017-Participant-Twitter-Header

As I said, this week was a real struggle. My depressed mood made it hard to get motivation and joy for writing on my novel. I just wanted to abandon it and declare the project as failed.

But it’s not that easy. I still have a Camp NaNoWriMo to win and so giving up is no option. Anyway, I decided to decrease my goal from 50k words to 35k words, because I just didn’t write much anymore. Maybe I will decrease it even more, it depends on how the next days will go.

I think, I know what the problem is. The reason why I just don’t like writing this story, is the length. I wanted to surpass my former novels with writing something really long and this just doesn’t work. I am not made to write really long 100k novels or longer. That’s why I am failing now. I would need a shorter project and maybe also another genre. Maybe I should read more high fantasy before I am writing it.

My mood is to write something totally different. Something dark, scary. Something that helps me to express my dark feelings.

Phew, but I can’t change projects yet. I decided to write this novel, so I should stick to it. Shouldn’t I?

