Howdy folks,

it’s 8th April and the first week of Camp NaNoWriMo is already over. I was bleeding words on paper, sweating, crying, fighting – and all for one goal: reaching 50k words by the end of the month.

Time for a quick update so that you know how the camp is going for me this year.

Camp-2017-Participant-Twitter-Header

I started very well into Camp NaNoWriMo this year. I was worried that I might not get a single word down and I was so super excited and nervous. Couldn’t wait on 31 March that it’s going to be midnight. And then, at twelve, I started writing with some of my cabin mates. It was very much fun and I typed almost 1,300 words that night.

Later on Saturday I typed some more words and by the end of the day I had about 3k written. Sunday was even better with 4k. I had a lot of time to write on the weekend and wa so motivated.

I also started recording new vlogs for my German YouTube channel. It was really fun, even though I was a bit … silent. I mean, I got stuck many times while recording the videos. But thanks to editing I could upload a nice vlog yesterday.

Tuesday I suffered from severe anxiety, obsessive thoughts and psychotic symptoms. That’s why I couldn’t really concentrate on that day and wrote only about 566 words. That was a bad setback. But Wednesday I catched up with about 3,3k.

Today, Saturday morning at 3 am, I have a total word count of 18,334 words. I think that’s a pretty good result for the first week and I’m already three days ahead. So I have a good buffer for bad days such as last Tuesday.

Unfortunately, I struggle with my story. It’s difficult to write and a real challenge and I still miss the flow that I had in the past sometimes. It takes me very long hours to write and the output isn’t as good as I would like it to be. In fact, today I thought that everything I am writing is just crap.

But I guess we all have these days from time to time, don’t we? I am proud that I wrote 2,150 words despite my self-doubts.

I also made a decision today: So far it was my official goal to write 50k words, but unofficially I wanted to finish my story which will be 80k to 100k words. This put me very much under pressure, so I decided that I will only work towards my 50k goal. Some people take years to write a first draft, so it’s no problem, if I take two months. There is no need to write it in one month. Maybe even the quality will suffer when I write it so fastly.

So: 50k are my goal and that’s all that I want to reach this Camp NaNoWriMo.

Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo? How is it going for you?

 

