In one week it’s finally here: Camp NaNoWriMo in April 2017! I can’t wait to finally start writing again towards my goal of 50,000 words. For all of those who don’t know Camp NaNoWriMo yet, I want to explain what it is about.

Besides, I will introduce you to my this year’s project in April. Even though I have already done that a few weeks ago in my WUW post. But for those of you who haven’t read it, I want to do it again in this blog post and share some extra information.

Camp-2017-Participant-Twitter-Header

The motto of this year’s April Camp is “Find your PLOT BUNNY” and I like that very much. In fact, I’m going to write a story that was born shortly after Camp NaNoWriMo in July 2016. It all began with a plot bunny … meanwhile I have developed a detailed world and a plot for a story with about 80k – 100k words. It’s my inofficial goal to finish that novel in April, but officially I want to write at least 50,000 words.

But what is Camp NaNoWriMo? 

The shortcut “NaNoWriMo” stands for “National Novel Writing Month”. The regular NaNoWriMo takes place in November every year. It’s an online event where writers from all around the globe give their best to write a novel of at least 50,000 words.

Camp NaNoWriMo differs a little from that event. It takes place on an extra website. There are three main differences between the Camps and the regular NaNoWriMo.

  1. You write in a so-called cabin, a little group of maximum 12 writers who write together. They have a chat where they can communicate and motivate each other.
  2. You don’t have to start a new novel, but can also revise an old one or write poetry, short stories, a non-fiction book, etc.
  3. You can set your goal yourself. Minimum is 10,000 words, but it’s open to the top. Besides words, you can also set a goal in pages, hours or lines.

I recommend everyone who wants to participate in NaNoWriMo in November to give the Camp a try. It’s a good preparation for the regular NaNoWriMo and always a lot of fun.

And what will you write this year?

The project I want to write this year is a high fantasy story that takes place in a fictional noctriamcoverkingdom called Noctriam. The name relates to the word “noctua”, which is Latin for “owl”. Owls are holy animals in my world. The title of the project is “The Legends of Noctriam: Flames of Hope”.

I did a lot of worldbuilding, drew a map, created a language (“Noc”), invented institutions and important stores, developed magical creatures and finally fleshed out my characters. The story will be told from four perspectives:

  1. Saralie, a young, extremly shy dryad or fears almost everything.
  2. Robian, an intelligent wizard on a journey.
  3. Isobil, an old, wise dryad who is kind of a mother to Saralie.
  4. Nola, a teenage girl who is fifty percent witch and fifty percent dryad and pursues a dark plan.

The cover shows a violet fire that has a special meaning in the story. Flames in general are used a symbol, that’s why I picked that word for the title. I hope you like it.

I also wrote an English synopsis for my story. This is what it’s about:

The dryads of the Vonicca tribe live peacefully together. Among the tribe there is a law: Romantic relationships are allowed only as a contract between women. Men are reserved for the queen of the tribe. Many years ago, a dryad didn’t abide by this and was chased away, dying a gruesome death.

When the dryad Saralie meets the wizard Robian, it’s love at first sight. She is acutely aware that she breaks the strictest law of her tribe. Whereas Robian is bound and determined to find an opportunity for the allowance to love Saralie. In a serendipitous moment, he meets the semi-witch Nola, who reveals a dark secret. A secret that doesn’t just change the lives of Saralie and Robian apruptly, but also Nola’s.

Volume 1 of the high fantasy trilogy “The Legend of Noctriam”.

