sculpture-2013048_1920

Hey everybody,

in my today’s post I’d like to dedicate myself to the topic of “inspiring people”. People, from whom we can learn a lot. People, who did great things that we admire them for. People, who became heroes because they stood up for their reasons.

In this blog post I would like to introduce you my personal “10 inspiring people”. Due to copyright reasons I will spare photos. But I will link the names to the Wikipedia articles, so that you can have a look just by clicking on the links. However, I think you know how these people look like anyway. The order of the names is random, by the way.

1. Mahatma Gandhi

Mahatma Gandhi, born as Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi in 1869 in Porbandar, India, became famous as a resistance fighter and pacifist. He was the leader of the Indian independence movement, when this country was still ruled by Great Britain. What I find so inspring about Gandhi is that he fought for his cause without violence – and even more, he won!  One of his “weapons” was hunger strike. He spent several years of his life in prison. Anyway, his case became famous and he was nominated for Nobel Peace Prize several times. In the year of his death, 1948, this prize wasn’t awarded. What I’ve learnt from Gandhi? You can win a battle even without violence.

2. John Lennon

Most people know John Lennon as one of the Fab Four, the Beatles, the most famous band in the world. But Lennon was more than a good musician and songwriter. He was a pacifist and fought for peace together with his wife Yoko Ono. He wrote several songs about peace, for example “Happy Xmas (War is Over)” (this video changed my life), “Imagine” or “Give Peace A Chance“. As I said, the video of “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)” changed my life – when I saw it for the first time, I was about 14 years old. I knew immediately, that I needed to do something, ANYTHING to make the world a better place. That’s why I sponsor a little boy in Indonesia today und support Amnesty International. John Lennon inspired me to do that.

3. Martin Luther King Jr.

Martin Luther King Jr. was born as Michael King in 1929. People know him as the leader in the Civil Rights Movement. He fought for black people, like him, and their rights in the USA. In 1963 he held his “I Have a Dream” speech that  made him famous worldwide. One year later he received the Nobel Peace Prize. When he was assassinated in 1968, his death was followed by riots all over the USA. Martin Luther King jr. inspired me to fight for appreciation, even if I have a handicap.

4. Tenzin Gyatso

This man is better known as the 14th Dalai Lama. I am not a fan of religion and I think poorly of religious personalities such as the Pope. But I love this Dalai Lama, he is so wise and good at heart. I read several books of his and was always delighted about his wisdom and knowledge. Still, he doesn’t talk to people like a teacher. He talks to them like a friend who gives them a good advice. That’s what I like so much about this man. I learnt from him that it’s not important to follow any religion, but to be a kind human being.

5. J. K. Rowling

I’m a writer – who could be a better hero of mine than this British lady? J. K. Rowling stole my heart with her Harry Potter world. Even though she became so famous and rich with her books, she still has both feet on the ground. She’s neither aloof nor arrogant. And her imagination – do I really have to say anything about this? It’s just magnificent! I mean, she came up with such a complex story, paid attention to even the least detail. She is the best idol a young, aspiring writer can have. 🙂 I learnt from Rowling to dream big and believe in my dreams.

6. Albert Einstein

He’s the first fellow German I’m mentioning, isn’t he? Well, Albert Einstein, born in 1979 in Ulm, a German city close to the town where I was born, was a theoretical physicist and the incarnation of a genius. Before he became famous with his theories, he worked in the local patent office in Bern, Switzerland. His secret was: He had an easy job to make money for living, but while he was in his office, he thought about his physical theories all the time. And in the end he became a Nobel Prize winning physicist. What I learnt from Einstein? Even if you have a boring job, this doesn’t mean that you’ll have to stick with it forever. Boring and easy work gives you the opportunity to work on your real goals.

7. Nelson Mandela

Another revolutionary and Nobel Peace Price winner. I must confess, I have a weakness for such people 🙂 Nelson Mandela was an anti-apartheid revolutionary and President of South Africa from 1994 – 1999. He spent 27 years in prison, but he never gave up on his goals. That’s what makes him to someone very special. He was called an communist terrorist, but now he stands for democracy and social justice. What I’ve learnt from Mandela? Now matter how stony your way to your goal is, never give up!

8. Stephen King

Another writer, another icon. Millions love Stephen King for his horror books. I must confess, I haven’t read much of his works yet. Especially the veeeery long novels are still on my wish list and not ordered yet. I own four of his books, three of them are read. The 4th one was a gift for last Christmas and it has over 800 pages. I was SHOCKED when I realized that 😀 I haven’t read such a long book for long. Stephen King inspired me to play with people’s fright. He taught me how to write scary stories, but not only that. He also taught me, that every beginning is difficult. He started with short stories and got rejection letter after rejection letter. And now? Now he’s one of the most famous writers on Earth.

9. Albert Schweitzer

Another German, not as famous as his namesake Einstein, but still well-known enough that the highschool in my former town was named after him. Albert Schweitzer was a physician, philosopher and theologian and not only that. He founded his own hospital in Gabon and helped poor African people to get medical treatment. In 1952, he won the Nobel Peace Prize – yeah, other winner in my list. What I have learnt from Schweitzer? That we all can do something to make this world a better place. Everyone of us has their own talents and skills. If we use them, to help others, we can create something wonderful.

10. Sophie Scholl

Sophie Scholl never won a prize, nor did she win her fight. This young lady paid for her restistance with her life. Sophie and her brother Hans lived in Nazi Germany . With flyers that they spread in their university, they tried to open the other student’s eyes about what terrible things the nazis did. But they were caught and executed by guillotine. It’s a sad story and I highly recommend you the movie “Sophie Scholl – The Final Days“.  What I learnt from Sophie Scholl? To be true to myself, no matter what.

These ten people were those who currently inspire me the most. Now it’s YOUR turn. I’m so super curious to hear which people you find inspiring. Don’t feel scared off by my numerous Nobel Peace Prize winners. If you get inspired by rockstars or actors, feel free to share it anyway. I won’t judge anyone.

See you soon!

Hugs,
Mimi

