The first month of 2017 is almost over and it’s time to look inward for a moment and think snow-man-555323_1920about all the things that happend this month.

All in all, I had a good start into the new year. My mental condition got a little better, even though I still have problems getting out of bed in the morning. Usually it’s noon when I finally get up. But anyway, I made some progress and I’m not as unmotivated anymore as I was in the end of last year.

Since the middle of this week I have a new cell phone and as it as way more memory space than my old phone, I installed some cool and useful apps. One of them is called “SplenDO” where I can create my own to-do lists. I really love this app. It’s a good feeling and very motivating, when you can tick all the tasks on the list in a day. Thanks to this app, I found the motivation to do more for my studies in corresponding school and I finished the unit about “Music Business”. Now I started the last book. It’s about “Making Money With Blogs” and it’s really interesting. Well, I don’t think that I’ll ever make money with this blog, but maybe with my German one.

I read four stories/books in this month:

  • “Der Sandkornzähler” by Sarah Ricchizzi (a German short story that was available for free on Amazon Kindle)
  • “Der Axolotlkönig” by Sylvia Rieß (a German fairy tale adaption)
  • “Hogwarts: An Incomplete And Unreliable Guide” by J. K. Rowling
  • “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

I loved all four stories. “Der Sandkornzähler”, “Der Axolotlkönig” and the “Hogwarts Guide” got five stars from me, the script of “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” got four stars. I’m thinking about writing an English review for that last book, but I’m not sure yet. I have already planned the blog posts for February, so maybe I’ll do it in March. With four books in one month I’m on track with my Goodreads challenge.

As you may already know, I finished editing my novella on 15th January and sent it to my beta readers. Meanwhile two of them already told me their first impressions: both were positive! I’m so relieved, because I was really worried that they might don’t like the story at all. Especially, because the protagonist is unfaithful to her husband and I didn’t know how my beta readers will take that.

I also started plotting and developing the fantasy world for my high fantasy novel that I’d like to write this year. I have a list with points about what to consider when I’m developing a fantasy world and I almost ticked all of these points. I created a language, zodiac signs and astrolgoy, institutions, an education system, the history of my kingdom and it’s neighboring states, holidays and special celebrations, rites and conventions, a currency system and even a different time reckoning. It was so much fun to invent and develop all that and I got some great ideas for characters – which will be the next point to do after finishing the development of the world: creating characters and then drafting an outline for the story. I still don’t know what my high fantasy story will be about. I have a few snippets of ideas, but I need to brainstorm some more.

I may won’t start writing the high fantasy story until April, as it needs a lot of preparation and planning. But I miss writing and at the moment I really would like to write something dark and scary. I’m thinking about writing a short novella or something, besides plotting my high fantasy story. Unfortunately I don’t haven an idea for a horror story yet. I did a session on Pinterest recently, to get some inspiration, but unfortunately it didn’t help. Maybe I’ll get some good ideas in the coming week. Let’s hope so.

Now I’m looking forward to February. I hope that month will become even better than January.

How was your January? What did you do? How did you feel? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

 

