Hey everybody, nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_participant

first of all, I’m terribly sorry for not posting something new in a whole month. But it was nothing really new here and I also didn’t receive many new postcards, so I had nothing to post. Hm.. but now NaNoWriMo started and I’d like to give you a short update about my writing progress.

I found some really nice writing buddies on the official NaNoWriMo website. Most are from Germany, but I also met some nice people from the United States and United Kingdom and I’m very happy that I got in touch with them.

First of all, I’d like to present you my official synopsis of the story I’m currently writing. It’s going to be a novella of ca. 30k words … well, that’s at least what I’ve planned, but I guess it will get longer in the end.

 

Title: “Blood companion wanted!”

Baron Falco von Goddart is a real ladykiller among the vampires. Hardly any vampire lady hadn’t had a fling with him. But on his 250th birthday his parents decide that this must come to an end. Falco should commit himself and find a blood companion to spend the rest of eternity with. These news go around and numerous vampire ladies call on the parents, because Falco is not just infatuating handsome, but also stinking rich. However, none of the candidates is good enough for the vampire and he rejects them all.

One day, he meets the mortal woman Ella and fells head over heels in love with her. But that causes a big problem. How should he tell Ella what he really is and that he wants to turn her into his kind?

So, how did NaNo go so far? Really well, I think. The first week is over and I reached already 25,000 words, so I’m halfway through to the official NaNo goal of 50,000 words. The first three days were not so well. I had problems with my story, my characters were still kinda foreign to me, so I strictly followed the outline to get from A to B.

But meanwhile I have got to known my characters: ladykiller Falco, who is totally confused when he falls in love with mortal Ella. Alicia, the vampire lady who wants him for her blood companion, no matter what. The vampire slayers – charming and nice to Ella, but brutal and cold when they meet a blood-sucker.

I started to depart from my outline and got some new ideas, that I wanted to weave in. Now my story differs from the actual outline, but that’s okay as long as it makes sense. I just can never stick to my outlines 😀 That happens to me every time 😛

How is your writing progress going? Are you participating in NaNoWriMo?

 

