home-office-336378_1280

Hello out there,

it’s Mimi again. I just wanted to give you a short update about my writing process and what’s new in my life. By the way, to all the German-speakers who read this: I have a German YouTube channel where I publish vlogs about writing and my life. If you want to follow them, feel free to take a look by clicking here.

Now, about my writing process: It goes very well for me at the moment. I have written almost 40k words this month, even though it’s not NaNoWriMo 😉 In total, I have already written over 300,000 words this year, which is amazing. Don’t know, how many book pages that would be … but A LOT for sure 😀 My goal for this year is 350,000 words, so I have 50,000 words left to go.

In my last diary article I mentioned, that I’m going to write a dystopian novella called “The Thieves of Alba”. Well, I had planned to write a 30k novella, but meanwhile I have already crossed 30k and I’m not even halfway through.

I got so many new ideas for the story and my characters seemed to become independent from me and developed their own life. Now I’m just following them and writing down what they dictate me. The story has developed an momentum of its own and it flows so good, that I wrote over 3,500 words today. Wow!

Unfortunately, I won’t be able to write in the coming days, as they’re rather busy. But I hope that I’ll be able to return to writing in the coming week.

I also wrote a short story today with another 3,000 words. It’s for a writing competition that I found online these days. I am not satisfied with the ending yet, but I still have some time (until February) to edit it and show it to beta readers. I really, really hope, that my story will be published this time. In fact, there are more competitions that I’d like to attend. I’m always extremely nervous when it’s about taking part in a competition. But it’s my dream, to publish more of my short stories in anthologies.

Last weekend, my parents were here and showed me their photos of their vacation on Rügen, a German island in the East Sea. It seems to be a beautiful island. My father gave me some of his photos, that I shared on Instagram. Maybe you saw it already.

That’s all for now. I’ll talk to you in a few days again!

Hugs,

Mimi

