Title: Talon (The Talon Saga, Book 1) Talon by Julie Kagawa
Author:
Julie Kagawa
Pages:
461
Year:
2014
Price: $ 7.99
Amazon: *click*

Synopsis

THE DRAGONS OF TALON: Once hunted nearly to extinction, they are now poised to take over the world. 

THE ORDER OF ST. GEORGE: The legendary dragonslayers will stop at nothing to wipe dragons from the face of the earth. 

These mortal enemies are locked in secret and deadly combat, with humanity none the wiser. 

To take her rightful place in the Talon organization, young dragon Ember Hill must prove she can hide her true nature and blend in with humans. Her delight at the prospect of a summer of “normal” teen experiences is short-lived, however, once she discovers that she’s also expected to train for her destined career in Talon. But a chance meeting with a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught.

As Ember struggles to accept her future, St. George soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian is tasked with hunting her down. But when faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything the Order has ingrained in him—and what he might be willing to give up to uncover the truth about dragons.

My opinion

I heard so much positive opinions about Talon on other book blogs. That made me curious and I decided to buy and read Talon, too. Now, that I have finished it, I’m glad that I can say: I didn’t get disappointed.

The story is parted in two parts and an epilog. Part 1 is told from Ember’s and Garret’s point of view. In part 2 Riley’s point of view is added, which I found very interesting, because so I learnt more about this interesting character. The epilog is told from Dante’s point of view.

Ember is a very nice protagonist. I suffered with her, when her trainer agonized her with her difficult exercises. I felt with her, when she met Garret and fell head over heels in love with him. And I had fun with her, when she went surfing with her friends.

I loved Garret, even though he has a terrible job. But I liked the way he developed during the story. He changed to the better and that made him very lovable to me – he’s the perfect guy for Ember and they’re such a cute couple, even though I was scared of the moment when they will find out the truth about each other.

Riley was a very cool character. I mean, hey, he’s a biker! And I have a weakness for bikers 😉 He loves his freedom and wants Ember to go with him. I wonderd all the time, if he’s in love with her. But I didn’t get a satisfying answer to that question yet. Mhm… maybe in book 2.

Lilith is a great antagonist. Great, because she is mean, but clever. She’s not an easy to defeat opponent and she’s very strong. I found her very fasciniating.

I loved Julie Kagawa’s writing style, it’s fluent and vivid. She knows how to put her readers  on the rack and make them read on and on and on … sometimes it was really hard to put the book down. The chapters are medium-sized to short, which I liked a lot, because so I was more motivated to read on fastly.

The end is sooo exciting and thrilling. I loved it – besides, it totally surprised me. I didn’t see it coming. I can’t wait to read book 2 (which is already in my book shelf haha).

Talon was the perfect summer read. I recommend it to everyone who likes dragons and urban fantasy stories.

About the author

Julie Kagawa was born in 1982 in Sacramento, California. At the age of nine, she moved to Hawaii with her family. She is of Japanese decent and currently lives with her husband in Louisville, Kentucky. She has written novellas and novels, mainly in the fantasy genre. Her first book series was the Iron Fey series. Besides the Talon series about dragons, she wrote a vampire series called Blood of Eden.

